Thread poster: Keith Salyer (X)
Keith Salyer (X)
Keith Salyer (X)
United States
Local time: 05:33
Japanese to English
Jul 31, 2018

Hi,

I'm completely new to ProZ and translating in general and would really appreciate some direction. I'm a self-taught Japanese learner and have been for a few years. It is a passion of mine and I'd like to make the most of the skill that I do have. The problem is I'm still young and inexperienced compared to probably the majority of translators on this website, so I can't imagine many people would come to me with work. That's why I was thinking I could translate for next to nothin
... See more
Hi,

I'm completely new to ProZ and translating in general and would really appreciate some direction. I'm a self-taught Japanese learner and have been for a few years. It is a passion of mine and I'd like to make the most of the skill that I do have. The problem is I'm still young and inexperienced compared to probably the majority of translators on this website, so I can't imagine many people would come to me with work. That's why I was thinking I could translate for next to nothing in order to get experience. Is this realistic? The thing is I don't want to disappoint anyone, so I'd prefer if people have a person to fall back on in case I do. I realize I have little confidence in my ability, but that's only natural.

There is one Japanese-English job I found in the directory that I'd like to take on with my ambitious self, but I was hoping someone could help me understand more about how this process works. I don't really understand what a quoting deadline and a delivery deadline are. I don't want to take a job only to find out I can't meet the client's expectations. I don't know how long I will have to translate or even have a preview of what I would have to translate assuming I took the job. I feel like I'd be in the dark. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.
Collapse

Natalie
Natalie  Identity Verified
Poland