Josh Wells
Josh Wells
United Kingdom
Local time: 18:45
French to English
+ ...
Jun 1, 2020

Hi all,

I was just wondering if anyone out there is currently using emacs or org-mode to help them with translation. I'm just getting into it now, because it allows me to quickly add clients, translate within one document, etc.

Does anyone else out there use this text editor, and if so, have you found anything that has improved your craft?

Dan Lucas
Dan Lucas  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2014)
Japanese to English
Yak shaving alert Jun 1, 2020

Josh Wells wrote:
Does anyone else out there use this text editor, and if so, have you found anything that has improved your craft?

I used Emacs for many years as a one-stop shop for writing and coding. It's an awesome operating system, and not a bad editor either. I loved its extensibility, and the sheer number of packages and extensions. avy was brilliant for navigating around the screen, for example, and things like yasnippet were so useful.

I played with org-mode, and liked it, but it doesn't really work as an organiser if you are away from your desk a lot, in my experience. Also, if you work with corporate clients, their ecosystem is usually dominated by Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint, and using other software and particularly other file formats can complicate life considerably.

On the negative side, I felt very much a second-class citizen using it on Windows rather than Linux, and I could never get the server/client thing to work, so I couldn't get the "instant startup" that people raved about. That meant I had to keep it running all the time because it took too long to start. And you have to keep on top of your installation, particularly your .emacs file, because it's so potentially complex.