M. Sitling
Niemcy
Local time: 09:11
angielski > niemiecki
+ ...
Mar 9, 2014

Dear all,

What would you make of this?

I'm a freelance translator working in Germany. Phone rings on a Saturday, 7:30pm, suppressed caller ID, man with heavy accent but fairly OK German, not stating his name, claims he sent a text to be translated through my website and never received it.

Then he stated he already paid for it via credit card, which is when I know for a fact that can't be true,
since I don't take credit card payments and do not of
... See more
Dear all,

What would you make of this?

I'm a freelance translator working in Germany. Phone rings on a Saturday, 7:30pm, suppressed caller ID, man with heavy accent but fairly OK German, not stating his name, claims he sent a text to be translated through my website and never received it.

Then he stated he already paid for it via credit card, which is when I know for a fact that can't be true,
since I don't take credit card payments and do not offer this option on my site. So I told him nice try, buddy, and hung up.

Now I'm wondering, though, how this scam would work. Did he think he would get my voicemail this late on a weekend and leave a fee number?

Or is there a chance that he was legitimate and got scammed by someone who impersonated me?
Collapse

Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
Niemcy
Członek ProZ.com
od 2009

angielski > niemiecki
+ ...
Apparently a scammer Mar 10, 2014

Hi M.

the only thing I'd recommend is that you try to find out if someone impersonates you.

Other than that you can be fairly sure that this person was a scammer. If he was a customer, even one having fallen for an impersonator, he would have at least stated his name and contact details, when he had sent the document in question and how to proceed now regarding the allegedly made advanced payment, aside from not having used a suppressed caller ID.

If you do
... See more
Hi M.